Page of 1  


The province is one of South Africa’s prime tourist destinations. It is a region of majestic mountains, beautiful valleys, sandy beaches, colourful people, legends and stories.

The Western Cape is situated on the southern tip of Africa with Cape Agulhas the southernmost point of the continent. It is caught up between two oceans, the Indian in the east and the Atlantic on its western shorelines. The Northern Cape and Eastern Cape Provinces forms its northwestern and eastern borders respectively.

Initially called the Cape Colony before unification in 1910, whereafter it became known as the Cape Province. After the 1994 elections, it was divided in the Western, Eastern and Northern Cape Provinces.

Some of the wonderful places and attractions you will encounter when visiting the province include:

  • Cape Town, the ‘Mother city’
  • Kirstenbosch
  • Table Mountain
  • Cape Peninsula
  • The Winelands
  • Garden Route
  • Walker Bay (Whale Watching)
  • Cango Caves
  • Swartberg Pass

To the top