Page of 1  

Leaving Gauteng on route to the Lowveld, the early riser is greeted by the rising sun on the horizon of the rolling grasslands of the Highveld.  No wonder that the province is called Mpumalanga -  “place where the sun rises”. 

The province was previously known as the Eastern Transvaal, but changed to Mpumalanga in September 1995. It is bordered by the Limpopo, Gauteng, Free State, KwaZulu Natal, as well as Mozambique and Swaziland.

It is situated mainly on the high plateau grasslands of the Middleveld. In the North-east it rises towards mountain peaks and terminates in a large escarpment. It then plunges to the low-lying area known as the Lowveld.

To the top